Chapter 8 Reading Reflection

August 1, 2012 at 8:27 am | Posted in E1, O1 | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

As I began this chapter, I immediately noticed how much more time indirect instruction uses to make the same connections as direct instruction (p.257). I understand that indirect instruction (ID) allows the students to make their own connections and develops insights that can build great problem solving skills they can use for years to come. What worries me the most is that the sole use of ID may only allow teachers to cover half as much content as direct instruction (DI).

Later Borich explains that DI strategies are more suited for teaching things like facts and rules, and ID strategies work best for teaching concepts, inquiry and problem solving (p.262). This seems like a gross oversimplification to me. I think it’s perfectly reasonable to have either instructional method be used at any level of Bloom’s Taxonomy. It could be more difficult at the higher levels for DI and the lower levels for ID, but not impossible. The biggest concept here I think is recognizing that the most effective teachers are able to use a blend of both DI and ID to their advantage. This blend may shift one way or the other depending on the topics covered. The greatest benefit of using each instructional method is that it will certainly keep kids engaged and the more engaged they are, the more they will learn.

Nearing the end of the chapter, Borich talks about large group discussions (p.283-285). Over the last week and a half, I have seen first-hand just how effective group discussions can be. The free flow of questions and answers and debate works so well, we’ve been using it since the time of Socrates. When you have enough class time, large group discussions can really have a significant impact. But even in smaller classes with limited time, you can still use the idea of “think, pair, share” (p.285). We have been using this exact technique in multiple classes here so far. A question is posed, then each student is given time to think about their response, and then they share their ideas with a neighbor. Finally, each pair will share their answers with the rest of the class.

Overall, I’m starting to like some aspects of indirect instruction. Trying out a blend of ID and DI might be something I look into as I begin student teaching.

 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It also worries me that using only indirect instruction may prevent students from learning more topics. However, is it fair to think that as a counterpoint, indirect instruction provides students with more time to explore concepts and to gain a deeper understanding?

    I do agree that in a happy classroom, students would see both types of instructions. And if there had to be one over the other, I believe it highly depends on grade level. When students are younger, direct instruction seems to provide students with guidelines for learning. As they become older, I can see how indirect instruction could spark interests in learning and finally when students go to college, hopefully they can deal with both types of instruction!

  2. I agree that indirect instruction seems to take more time. This seems to be another instance where you have to decide if the goal is to have a deeper understanding of fewer concepts or a broader understanding of more concepts. Indirect instruction does have the advantage of helping students better retain the information since they arrived at the information themselves after a struggle.
    It will be interesting to see which method each of us tends to lean towards in our own teaching.

  3. Travis, I am also in pursuit of a way to blend instruction strategies from both the direct and indirect instruction models in my planning. I don’t know if I will be able to do it within the same class, but if I can, that would seem to me to be a good way to differentiate my teaching. As we have discussed about indirection instruction in mathematics, I think it will be a challenge not just because of the nature of the content, but also just the time we will have to cover the material we need to in class.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.